The Equality Act 2010 (the Act) provides protection against discrimination because of religion or belief.

In the Act, ‘religion or belief’ is defined as being any religion, religious belief or philosophical belief. Individuals with no religious beliefs, such as atheists, are also protected. Major religions and beliefs (such as Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Sikhism, Humanism, Secularism and Paganism) are covered by the Act.

Police Law - Religious and Belief Discrimination